The John W. Gardner Student Leadership Award annually honors a student who exemplifies the ideals of the University through outstanding volunteer service beyond the University community.

The Gardner Award, named for the founder of Common Cause, was established in 1986 by University President Emeritus Father Theodore Hesburgh, C.S.C., with money he received as a recipient of the Independent Sector’s first John Gardner Leadership Award.

Current and Past Recipients:

2022-2023: John Sexton

2021-2022: Greg Miller

2020-2021: Molly Link

2019-2020: Tim Jacklich

2018-2019: Annelise Gill-Wiehl

2017-2018: Ngor "Majak" Anyieth

2016-2017:  Alexis Doyle

2015-2016:  Colleen McLinden

2014-2015: Christina Gutierrez

2013-2014: Keon Woo

2012-2013: Emily B. Conron

2011-2012: Hanna O'Brien

2010-2011: Gabrielle Tate

2009-2010: Vi Barbara Ho

2008-2009: Megan Rybarczyk

2007-2008: Michael McKenna

2006-2007: Michael C. Dewan

2005-2006: Peter J. Quaranto

2004-2005: Michael Poffenberger

2003-2004: Mary E. Murphy

2002-2003: Maura Kelly

2001-2002: Theresa Ferry

2000-2001: Paul Nebosky

1999-2000: Arnoldo Lacayo

1998-1999: Jamiko S. Rose

1997-1998: Andrea Ray

1996-1997: Christine M. Raslavsky

1995-1996: Habitat for Humanity, ND Chapter (Heather Hughes, Steven Rossigno, Matthew Fitzgerald, Joshua Briggs, Kathryn L. Warzon)

1994-1995: David Leonard

All recipients are listed on a large plaque in the LaFortune Student Center.