It is our honor to recognize the students shaping the Notre Dame community.

Awards administered by the Vice President for Student Affairs:


2014-2015 Student Leadership Award Winners

The Rev. A. Leonard Collins, C.S.C., Award annually honors a graduating senior who has expended substantial personal effort to advance the interests of students at Notre Dame.

The Rev. Theodore M. Hesburgh, C.S.C. Award annually honors a graduating senior whose contributions have significantly advanced the climate of welcome and inclusion within or beyond the University community.

The Sister Jean Lenz, O.S.F. Leadership Award annually honors a post-baccalaureate student who has displayed leadership in promoting a more diverse, inclusive campus community for students.

The Blessed Basil Moreau, C.S.C., Leadership Award annually honors a senior at Notre Dame who embodies Fr. Moreau’s vision of educating both the heart and mind, and who has demonstrated significant effort to advance the Catholic character of the University.

The John W. Gardner Student Leadership Award annually honors a student who exemplifies the ideals of Notre Dame through outstanding volunteer service beyond the University community.

The Mike Russo Spirit Award honors an outstanding undergraduate student who exemplifies the qualities for which Mike Russo was known, including service, personal character, and those who strive to bring about the best in themselves and others. 

The Ray Siegfried Award for Leadership Excellence is annually awarded to a senior at Notre Dame who exemplifies the qualities for which Notre Dame Trustee Ray Siegfried was known, including leadership, generosity, devotion to the Catholic faith, and affinity for athletics.

The Denny Moore Award for Excellence in Journalism is awarded annually to a senior at Notre Dame who exemplifies the qualities for which Denny Moore was known, including personal integrity and character, commitment to Notre Dame, and writing ability.

Student Leadership Awards: These awards are given to ten Notre Dame undergraduate students who best exemplify the spirit of Notre Dame in social, recreational, residential, service, and religious activities that promote the welfare of the University and extended communities.

Contact: Ginger Chrapliwy, 574-631-7394