The Sister Jean Lenz, O.S.F. Leadership Award annually honors a post-baccalaureate student who has displayed leadership in promoting a more diverse, inclusive campus community for students.  Sister Jean was a Chicago native and a Franciscan sister of the Congregation of the Third Order of St. Francis of Mary Immaculate; she earned a master's degree from Notre Dame in 1967 and was among the first women rectors on campus following the University's transition to coeducation in 1972 after 130 years as an all-male institution.  This award was first given during the 2010-11 school year and Sr. Jean passed away on January 21, 2012.   

Sister Jean headed Farlely Hall from 1973 until 1983, when she became rector and chaplain of Notre Dame's London Program.  From 1984 to 2008, she served as Assistant Vice President for Student Affairs; among other responsibilities, she worked closely with the Graduate Student Union and supervised the offices of International Student Services and Activities as well as Multicultural Student Programs and Services for a number of years.  She is the author of Loyal Sons and Daughters, an account of her years as an administrator, teacher, mentor, minister and alumna of the University.  In 2007, Sister Jean's name was added to the Wall of Honor in Notre Dame's Main Building. 

Current and Past Recipients:

2018-2019: Richard Klee

2017-2018: Joyce Rivera-Gonzalez

2016-2017: Clyde Daly

2015-2016:  Anthony Cunningham

2014-2015: Aarmir Ahmed Khan

2013-2014: Karen A. Antonio

2012-2013: Michael A. Gillman

2011-2012: Caitlin Shetter

2010-2011: Jacqueline Pimental-Gannon