Student Awards

The Ray Siegfried Award for Leadership Excellence

Download a blank nomination form

About Ray Siegfried:

A 1965 Notre Dame alumnus, a Trustee, a Notre Dame parent, and a generous benefactor of the University, Ray Siegfried died in 2005 after a long and courageous struggle with amyotrophic lateral sclerosis (Lou Gehrig’s Disease). While a student at Notre Dame, he learned how to pray, and the power and joy of that knowledge sustained him through an often demanding and ultimately triumphant life. A loyal son of Our Lady and servant of Our Lord, he pursued the vision which the University of Notre Dame celebrates and exemplified the virtues on which it depends. The Ray Siegfried Award for Leadership Excellence gratefully memorializes his splendid witness.

Award Eligibility:

The Ray Siegfried Award for Leadership Excellence will be awarded annually to a senior at Notre Dame who exemplifies the qualities for which Notre Dame Trustee Ray Siegfried was known, including leadership, generosity, devotion to the Catholic faith, and affinity for athletics. Nominations will be solicited from residence hall rectors, department directors in the Division of Student Affairs, and selected units on campus. Nomination forms should include arecommendation of 350 words or less detailing the personal characteristics which make the student a good candidate for this award.

Selection Criteria:

Student should exemplify:

  1. Excellence in leadership, as evidenced by involvement in student leadership initiatives in the hall or in the campus community.
  2. Generosity of time, talent, and treasure
  3. Devotion to the Catholic faith
  4. Interest in and affinity for inter-/intramural or varsity athletics

To the recommender:

In addition to completing a nomination form, please write a brief (approximately 350 words or less) description of the nominee, explaining why you think this student is a good candidate for the award.

Submission deadline is in February. 

Please mail nomination form to:
Ray Siegfried Award Nominations
Office of Student Affairs
316 Main Building
Notre Dame, IN 46556

Award will be presented at the Student Activities Awards Dinner in April.

Current and Past Award Recipients

2013-2014: Elizabeth Tucker

2012-2013: Adam E. Zebrowski

2011-2012: Tommy Chase

2010-2011: Kayla A. Bishop

2009-2010: Michael Sayles

2008-2009: Daniel Rodgers

2007-2008: Rachel Cota

2006-2007: Maureen R. Spring

2005-2006: Daniel L. Carey