Opened in 1927 as a residence for 195 men, Lyons Hall was one of the first residence halls to incorporate the proximity of the lake in its design (thus, the picturesque views of St. Mary's Lake through its archway). Dedicated in honor of Joseph Lyons, an English professor in the 1860s-1880s, Lyons was originally known as an Honors Hall and is the only residence hall shown in the movie Rudy. Lyons was converted in 1974 to Notre Dame's sixth residence hall for women. In the summer of 2013 Lyons Hall underwent a major renovation, adding air-conditioned lounges with kitchens on each floor and converting the annex from student rooms back into a Faculty-in-Residence apartment.
Hall leadership coordinates the annual Mara Fox Run, which raises funds for a scholarship named in honor of a former resident of Lyons Hall who was killed by a drunk driver in 1993.
Ms. Sarah Heiman
Raised on a farm in rural Nebraska, Sarah is thrilled to be joining the Notre Dame family and returning to her Midwestern roots from shoreline Connecticut. Her most recent ministry was at Mercy Center, a retreat and conference center sponsored by the Sisters of Mercy, where she developed and led programmatic offerings to help people of all ages connect with the Sacred in self, others, and creation. Prior to that, she served for four years at Sacred Heart University overseeing retreats, faith development, and encouraging discipleship and student leadership. Sarah earned her Bachelor’s degree in Religious Studies and Master of Divinity from Yale University where she first grew to appreciate the gifts young adults have to offer to the Church and the world. She looks forward to returning to the ministry of higher education and learning and living the history and traditions of Notre Dame.
|Number of Sections||6|
|Number of Floors||4|
|Number of Rooms||111|