Constructed in 1931 in honor of the second president of Notre Dame, Rev. Patrick Dillon, C.S.C., Dillon Hall is situated on the South Quad and is the largest residence hall on campus. Funded through revenue generated by Coach Knute Rockne and the 1925 Rose Bowl, the hall’s chapel includes a side altar dedicated to St. Olaf, the patron saint of Norway, where Rockne was born. In addition to its annual Stache Bash to support the South Bend Center for the Homeless, Dillon is best known for its opening day whiffle ball tournament, and its weekly Milkshake Mass, in which students from all over campus celebrate Mass in the hall’s St. Patrick’s Chapel and stay afterward for milkshakes. Former residents include Pulitzer Prize winner George Dohrmann and football standouts Victor Abiamiri, John Carney, Anthony Fasano, D.J. Fitzpatrick, and Mike Golic.